Early Years Foundation Stage 

Early Years Foundation Stage is a government set framework for standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to 5 years. All government funded Preschools must follow the principles of the EYFS. As Brize Norton Village Preschool receives funding for the education of children from 3-5 years, we plan activities and experiences that help each child progress in their development and learning in accordance with the EYFS.

The EYFS is made up of three prime areas of learning:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Communication and Language
  3. Physical Development

The Revised Early Years Foundation Stage 2012 guidance promotes the above areas of learning as being vital for children to be able to then progress onto achieving the following four specific areas of learning:

  1. Literacy
  2. Expressive Art and Design
  3. Mathematics
  4. Understanding the world

Each of these areas contain learning goals which most children will have achieved by the end of their reception year at school. We recognise all children learn and develop at different rates and some may achieve these goals earlier and some later.

Records and Assessment

In line with EYFS guidelines, your child will be observed and assessed throughout their time at Preschool.  A member of staff, known as a Key Worker, will fill out a “Learning Journey” file for your child, which will include information on their achievements and progress.  The file will contain photos of them doing activities and some of the things they have made or drawn. The Learning Journey files are kept on the premises, in a lockable cabinet. Your child’s file is always available for you to look through and also add to with things from home such as pictures and photos of home activities.

Developmental information is passed on to your child’s primary school when your child leaves Preschool.